Crazy Doctor Lady

February 6, 2010 at 11:50 AM 7 comments

So yesterday was my monthly doctor checkup. Sometimes when I go I don’t actually get to see my midwife at first. She’ll send in one of her intern-type people to check me out and I HATE THAT! They always have really heavy middle-eastern accents that I can’t understand…which is frustrating during pregnancy when you have so many questions!

Anyway, yesterday I got this woman that was the WORST. First she went to hear my baby’s heartbeat like usual. There’s a little wand thing that’s kind of like a microphone and they place it on your tummy and you can hear it. Well, this lady I guess was having a hard time cause she starts thrusting it into my stomach SO hard like she’s trying to get it through my skin or something! Hubby was there and his eyes got so wide! LOL! She just kept moving it around and pushing down really hard cause she wanted to “hear it louder” and it hurt soooo bad. Then she’s like, “for some reason it keeps moving away.” And I’m thinking UH YEA I WONDER WHY! YOU’RE ABUSING IT! I’m sure it was uncomfortable for the baby too!

So, she finally decides she’s done listening to the heart. Then she measures my stomach/makes some random chit chat I can’t understand. Then she’s like “I’m going to try to feel it a little bit!” And I’m like huh? She attacks my stomach again but this time with both hands and starts grabbing around. I thought hubby was gonna get up and ask her to stop. She was pushing so hard she could probably feel my spine. Then she stops and grabs this one spot like “what do we have here?” This was the most painful part. Then she’s like “here’s the head!” And she actually had her hand 3/4 of the way around his head in a good grip. She was like “want to feel?” and of course before I answered she just took my hand and put it around the head. Very freaky feeling but I felt it! I really just wanted her to let go. It was awful and seemingly pointless.

I was so happy when we left and Shane was like “that looked so painful!!!! are you okay????” I probably should have just been like STOP! If my baby is born with one eye I’ll know who poked the other one out! My stomach still hurts today.

Anyone else had a baby before? Is “feeling” the baby like that normal??? They’ve never done that at any of my other visits. Usually just feel the top of my uterus to make sure I’m growing properly.

Entry filed under: baby, family, pregnancy. Tags: , , , .

show your sexy domestic side this Valentine’s Day! Sorry!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marngrayk  |  February 6, 2010 at 5:36 PM

    wow…i am 32 weeks pregnant with my first baby and while i have never had an experience QUITE that dramatic, i can certainly sympathize with you – at my 20 week ultrasound, the tech was using that wand in ways that were sooo uncomfortable…pushing around to get good looks at the everything…and then, when the baby was in the wrong position to look at a particular organ, she would start jiggling my belly around to try to get the baby to move…ugh! it was totally unpleasant. but i have never had the doc literally start “feeling around” on my belly like that…what in the world was she looking for?? next time, i would definitely speak up about the pain, and also, ask exactly what medical reason she had to grab at your belly like a kid with play-doh! hope you are feeling better, and your future doctors visits are more pleasant.

    Reply
  • 2. Annabelle  |  February 10, 2010 at 1:30 PM

    Woah, I hope your tummy and the baby are okay now. :( That woman sounds kinda dodgey. I can’t really help on the baby part, as I’m only 15 lol, but imo I think it would be nice to have a child in the future :) x

    Reply
  • 3. Christine  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:46 PM

    I’ve never heard of that happening before. I have some friends who have kids too. I’m sorry that you had to go through all of that discomfort. If that happens again I’d definitely ask her to stop. That seems so strange and unneeded to be so rough!!

    Reply
  • 4. Cassie  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:03 AM

    Whoa, that lady seems mental and very very inconsiderate. I’d probably complain & yell, if I had pregnant lady wrath. Hope you’re ok now, though, and don’t have to go through that again. Never heard of feeling the baby before, though, freaky.

    Reply
  • 5. Annabelle  |  February 19, 2010 at 2:14 PM

    The present turned out to be roses, you were right. :) They’re so beautiful.

    Reply
  • 6. Britney  |  February 27, 2010 at 6:47 PM

    That woman sounds abnormal. I hope you don’t see her again.

    Reply
  • 7. Jessi  |  March 16, 2010 at 5:16 PM

    Hello darling, sorry for replying late. Thank you! I totally agree. I hate it when boys take advantage of the fact that we involuntarily have periods :(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Girl

Hey, I'm Lisa. I'm a twenty-year-old radiology student, and a part time cashier at a flea market. I'm married to the greatest guy ever; his name is Shane. We're expecting a baby boy on May 23rd, 2010, and frantically preparing for his arrival. I love shopping, dancing, making jewelry, playing the clarinet, the color green, and spending time with my hubby.

Family

Lilypie Maternity tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Blog Stats

  • 380 visitors

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

